The Politics of Brittany.

Published January 6, 2014 by Britt

Political affiliation? Lana Del Rey.

Politics is a touchy subject for most people. In fact, Dad says it’s one of three things he never talks about on the phone with someone at work making small talk while he fixes computers (The other two are religion and sports.). I kind of have to get involved for debate. It’s mock Congress, for crying out loud. I have to. Now, I’m not going to cram it down your throat. But it’s probably about time I explain my stance on certain things for future reference. And I came up with these opinions on my own; I did my research on them came up with them by myself. None of this was me being raised this way, and my opinions don’t really reflect those of my family (At least, I don’t think so.).

‘Murica

I like to think of myself as an independent leaning to the left. This is for lots of reasons. One is demographic. I am a young, educated, female student and that’s a type of person that that side happens to appeal to.

BUT.

I think both sides are huge pieces of crap. All they want is basically the opposite of what the other side wants, and they won’t cooperate to make things better. They won’t sit down and focus on the problems, and when they do they’re being essentially bribed by corporations to do their bidding. The won’t sit down and do what’s best for the people. Quite frankly, I don’t know if they even consider the people in making their decisions. It’s all about the money for them.

Allow me to give you an example. I went to an invitational and this very attractive guy printed out the entirety of Obamacare and intended to use it as evidence in his speech. Sounds like a good plan, right?

thisisobamacaresayhello

Say hello to my little friend.

He said the librarians got angry at him.

And guess what? Congress hasn’t read that whole thing. It’s over 1000 pages long. Maybe more. No one’s read that thing. That is unfair to America. I will admit, I prepared a speech on the same bill that he had prepared his speech on, but I at least watched a few videos to figure out how it works, or at least get the gist of it. I wouldn’t say the system is perfect (none are), but healthcare, according to the UN, is a basic human right, and this is at least a step in the direction towards universal healthcare.

I can’t be the only one who remembers the tragic shooting a little over a year ago at Sandy Hook Elementary School. Demands for gun control skyrocketed. Congress had a very good background check bill in hand. They dropped the ball. The bill died. Lots of people are to blame for that, Democrats and Republicans. Meanwhile, there’s Sen. Angus King and Sen. Bernie Sanders who are sitting and looking around hating everyone. You go Independents.

You want guns, NRA? Why not have marshmallow guns instead? Marshmallows are fluffy and delicious. And not deadly.

Basically, I think the American political system needs serious reform. It’s all nonsense. College Humor made a good parody of how Congress works right now in the form of an email chain. It makes me laugh.

I can’t wait for Congress to get the boot and have the new leaders of tomorrow like me  get involved in the political system and learn how to cooperate and do better things for America than the lazy Congress we have today.

Comments? I like comments. You should leave one.

