Reviews of a Bibliophile: A Storm of Swords by George RR Martin

Published August 11, 2013 by Britt

Summary: Of the five contenders for power, one is dead, another in disfavor, and still the wars rage as violently as ever, as alliances are made and broken. Joffrey, of House Lannister, sits on the Iron Throne, the uneasy ruler of the land of the Seven Kingdoms. His most bitter rival, Lord Stannis, stands defeated and disgraced, the victim of the jealous sorceress who holds him in her evil thrall. But young Robb, of House Stark, still rules the North from the fortress of Riverrun. Robb plots against his despised Lannister enemies, even as they hold his sister hostage at King’s Landing, the seat of the Iron Throne. Meanwhile, making her way across a blood-drenched continent is the exiled queen, Daenerys, mistress of the only three dragons still left in the world. . . .

But as opposing forces maneuver for the final titanic showdown, an army of barbaric wildlings arrives from the outermost line of civilization. In their vanguard is a horde of mythical Others–a supernatural army of the living dead whose animated corpses are unstoppable. As the future of the land hangs in the balance, no one will rest until the Seven Kingdoms have exploded in a veritable storm of swords. . .

***Potential spoilers for Season 3 of Game of Thrones. I’ll try to avoid Season 4, but it may slip out.***

Well, snap. This is the book where crap hits the fan, in case you couldn’t tell by the climax of Season 3. I happened to see the titles of each episode beforehand, and once I saw what Episode 9’s title was, I knew it was coming, since I started the book before the season.

I just finished the series, but I think this is my favorite, certainly much better than A Clash of Kings. There’s way more action in it. Way more important events, like The Red Wedding and more still to come. There was also a lot of deaths. Important deaths. As freaking Ramsay Bolton once said (Oh how I hate him. He’s almost a bigger jerkwaffle than Joffrey. I hope he dies a slow, painful death. Both of them, quite frankly. ;D):

Weird, because GRRM has said it’s going to be a bittersweet ending.

Funny story, my criminal justice teacher had said he was bored with the season. I told him to wait until episode 9 and he threatened to fail me if he was still bored after episode 9. Well, guess who won that bet?

Now that Richard Madden isn’t doing anything, can he be on Doctor Who with his girlfriend Jenna? For one episode? Please?

Anyway, I liked the plot and it was a real page turner. Lots of events and action that certainly affect the rest of the series. It’s darker and cooler. It makes me happy, and refreshing after the last book. It’s also the biggest of the books, clocking in with over 1,000 pages. Wow, GRRM. Wow.

Unpopular Opinions: I think the Starks are mostly overrated, except Sansa. Sansa Stark (especially after this book), I think, is going to be like Daenerys and get herself an army to mess everyone’s game up. And the person she is with at the moment will teach her all she needs to know.  Although, I did here that in Book 1, losing her direwolf will affect her life. Not sure how, but it will. I think it will be for the better, but we’ll see.

Overall: ★★★★★ Five stars.

Comments? I like comments. You should leave one.

