Wow.

Published July 14, 2013 by Britt

This weekend hasn’t really been fun in the news, now has it? Verdict on George Zimmerman, and the death of Cory Monteith. I had been planning on putting up another review today to try and catch up on my reviews, but now I think I should cover this first and give my thoughts and opinions.

George Zimmerman Verdict

Last year the internet (Actually, Facebook) was in a frenzy surrounding the death of Trayvon Martin, who was walking home from a 7-11 with some Skittles and a drink through a neighborhood where he was spotted by an armed neighborhood watch captain George Zimmerman, who assumed he was up to no good and called 911, followed him, and got out of the car. A fight ensued, and Zimmerman shot and killed Martin and claimed Stand Your Ground and self-defense.

Stand Your Ground is a law that states that you can use force in self-defense if there is a reasonable belief that he or she is in danger. Florida’s version of the law is very confusing and therefore makes it difficult to prosecute offenders. While other states have differing versions of the law, Florida’s has undergone the most controversy.

Personally, I believe he should have been found guilty. However, given the fact there was no witness who saw the fight all the way through except for Martin and Zimmerman, there was too much doubt surrounding the case. In order to be found guilty of a crime, especially a crime like this, it must be beyond reasonable doubt. If there was, for example, video evidence in this that showed who was on top, that would be guilty beyond reasonable doubt. But the night was dark and full of terrors (cookie for reference) and some of the neighbors couldn’t tell exactly who was on top of the fight and who was on the bottom, and the call to the girlfriend with the scream in it was hard to identify. Combined with Zimmerman’s lack of testimony (which I think was a sign he was hiding something), there was too much doubt surrounding the evidence and therefore reasonable doubt that led to his exoneration. Even if it was a 1% chance that he was innocent, it’s still reasonable doubt, and leads to his or her acquittal.

Now, it appears that the Martin family will take a similar route to the family of the victims in the OJ Simpson case and punish him in civil court, where the jury really has to say “Ehhhh… it kind of looks like he’s guilty, so…” and slap him with at least some form of damages which can be lowered based on percentage of fault in the case. If it was 25% Trayvon Martin’s fault, Zimmerman would still pay 75%  of damages. Whatever becomes of that case, Zimmerman still most likely has to go into hiding like Casey Anthony did.

In the end, does this case really affect U.S. law in any way, shape, or form? No. Does it really have anything to do with racism? Not really. Is most of the U.S. going to forget about this in a year or two? Probably.

I’m not letting my parents retire to Florida in the end though. Florida and Colorado. Too many legal issues, and from the looks of it, Texas is next on the list. Which will bring me to part 2 of my opinions…

Texas Abortion Law

A couple of weeks ago everyone was cheering for Senator Wendy Davis and her 11 hour, incredibly restricted filibuster that led to the supposed death of the bill. Then Governor Rick Perry made an extra session and passed it. While debates were opening up, people flocked in and they confiscated all pads and tampons from women. Why? To keep people from throwing them. What makes it really funny is that you’re allowed to bring in guns. I saw this somewhere and it made me laugh.

I see now it’s from a Liberal website, but come on. This is kind of ridiculous.

The thing with the whole abortion thing that really makes me unhappy is that it’s a bunch of men telling women what to do with their own bodies. I don’t personally want an abortion, but situations differ on a case by case basis and there are some that want it, so what I want is the option for it to be there should the need for me to get one (I doubt it) arises or should someone else want it and I don’t necessarily want them to use a coat hanger. I think the gist of my opinion of this whole abortion thing can be summed up in a line from Friends:

Cory Monteith

Checking my phone in the morning isn’t usually shocking to me. Various emails from colleges and politicians, maybe a text or two, maybe a CNN notification telling me something happened that night, but boy I was shocked to see the news of Cory Monteith’s death. I don’t watch Glee, I tried but couldn’t get into it, but wow.

As a fan of various different TV shows, I would be shocked if something happened to one of the actors, especially a main one. The recent death of Richard Griffiths (Vernon Dursley) was a little shocking, but he was kind of old and less well-known than Cory Monteith and therefore, his death was less shocking. But Monteith was 31, had a great career going for him (no matter how cheesy Glee is, Gleeks will follow it until the end), and I’ve been hearing he was about to get married to Lea Michele, who adored him and had been saying she was the luckiest girl in the world to be dating him. He was also briefly on Supernatural, one of my favorite TV shows.

It really is a tragedy, all snark about the show itself aside, and I feel awful for Lea Michele. My support goes out to the Glee fandom and the friends I have who are Gleeks, and I hope he’s in a better place now.

Bonus: Last tweet from him, supposedly made 13 minutes before he died.

lasttweet

One comment on “Wow.

  • Comments? I like comments. You should leave one.

