Reviews with a Mug Brownie: The Lost Symbol by Dan Brown

Published June 29, 2013 by Britt

I still don’t know why I continue calling it that when I don’t even make mug brownies for it. Probably consistency because I have OCD issues.

Summary: In this stunning follow-up to the global phenomenon The Da Vinci Code, Dan Brown demonstrates once again why he is the world’s most popular thriller writer. The Lost Symbol is a masterstroke of storytelling that finds famed symbologist Robert Langdon in a deadly race through a real-world labyrinth of codes, secrets, and unseen truths… all under the watchful eye of Brown’s most terrifying villain to date. Set within the hidden chambers, tunnels, and temples of Washington, D.C., The Lost Symbol is an intelligent, lightning paced story with surprises at every turn. This is Dan Brown’s most exciting novel yet.

Vague description from the back of the book. Not a plug or anything, just the back of the book.

Let me start by saying this: I really like Dan Brown and his books. Watson and I like reading them, and my parents had been cramming The Da Vinci Code down my throat for a while. So I read it and once I got into it I was all “omg this is gr9.”

So, these books are real page turners for me, and The Lost Symbol was no different. The murders at the beginning of the first two books were really graphic, so I was glad to see that there really wasn’t a murder for this one. The villain wasn’t quite as terrifying as described on the back, but he was a devious villain and he used very clever ways of killing people when he did.

Also, Masonic culture is amazing. I think I’ve told you I’m a history geek, and Freemasons make me happy. And learning their code thingy that he put in there made me happy. I wrote my name in Masonic code, and made it for a bunch of my friends as well. I was bored in class. Don’t judge me.

I was also really pleased that Langdon didn’t try to get into the pants of the lady friend in this one. He did in Angels and Demons and he did in The Da Vinci Code, but it was a nice change of pace.

The plot was great, characters were great (Dan Brown has nice continuity as far as characters go, and clever quirks), and overall very good. I want to read Inferno, but I can’t seem to get a hold of it. *still crying for that*

Four stars, mainly so I don’t seem too biased.

P.S. It would be really great if you leave some new review title suggestions in the comments. I got nothing. 😛

Comments? I like comments. You should leave one.

