Brittany attempts to get a job.

Published June 28, 2013 by Britt

Today I was looking at my library account because I hadn’t heard anything about one of my holds in a while. While I was there, I put a hold on the fifth book of A Song of Ice and Fire (Game of Thrones, folks), because I am impatient and can’t wait until October when they release it in paperback and in the size I like for consistency purpose. I’m incredibly OCD when it comes to my books, which makes my mom laugh because my room is a mess. This is currently my hold list:

oneday

I have to wait a while, obviously.

Then I decided I didn’t want to wait for Dan Brown’s (The DaVinci Code) new book, and so I went to go place a hold on that.

cries

If you hear quiet sobbing while reading this post, that’s me, wishing I had money.

Well, ladies and gentlemen, I am 16 years old and in any form of teenager life, you are required to get a job so you may have money to buy a car, get gas, get stuff like books and DVDs (at least for me), etc.

I’ve been working on getting a job since around… January. Ish. No exact dates and stuff. I wanted to work at a  bookstore because I love books in case you couldn’t tell (Theme, GoodReads profile, reviews, profile picture in a library…) and I wanted the discount. Also, given the fact that there are many, many movies coming out this year that a steady paycheck may be helpful. Babysitting is nice, but not when you only have two customers.

So, the first actual call I got back was from a lawyer on the Navy Base. He called me when I wasn’t home, so I called him back the next day and got nothing back.

Then I went to Cracker Barrel and had an on the spot interview. Hooray, because I went to a career center and they told me to dress up. So I dressed up anyway. Not sure how that went.

But Wednesday I went to an interview at Coldstone Creamery, which certainly was an odd interview. It’s officially called an “audition” and they make you sing. It’s mainly to determine personality. I feel like I did pretty darn well, because I sang my icy heart out to an edited version of 500 Miles that was themed to ice cream. I also felt superior to the 20+ candidates at this audition, so that also made me happy, on top of winning the unofficial award for Best Dressed.

More will come on this job hunting saga. I’ve sent in well over 50 applications with no calls until now. You can see that I’m probably feeling a bit discouraged. I’m getting there, slowly but surely. I blame the economy.

Comments? I like comments. You should leave one.

