Reviews with a Mug Brownie: Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan

Published June 19, 2013 by Britt

Summary: One cold night, in a most unlikely corner of Chicago, Will Grayson crosses paths with . . . Will Grayson. Two teens with the same name, running in two very different circles, suddenly find their lives going in new and unexpected directions, and culminating in epic turns-of-heart and the most fabulous musical ever to grace the high school stage. Told in alternating voices from two YA superstars, this collaborative novel features a double helping of the heart and humor that have won them both legions of fans.

Oh look, a review I promised months ago but never did. Okie dokie. The grammar nazi in me was screaming at half the book due to capitalization that distinguished one Will’s point of view from the other’s. That angered me. But it was necessary bad grammar, because it would be tough to distinguish which Will Grayson you were speaking of.

Normally I like John Green’s characters. But these characters I didn’t like as much. Sure, I like the concept of the plot, I mean who wouldn’t want to meet someone with their name? But I didn’t like either Will Grayson, because they weren’t that great to Tiny. Tiny wasn’t that great either, mind you. They were well written, I just didn’t like them as characters.

And the ending upset me. Tiny should have ended up with Will. But it was an interesting ending, with extra creativity.

As creative as everything was, I’m not as impressed as I have been before with John Green’s books. And no, David Levithan, I don’t blame you.

Three stars.

Comments? I like comments. You should leave one.

