Reviews with a Mug Brownie: An Abundance of Katherines by John Green

Published March 25, 2013 by Britt

Plot: When it comes to relationships, Colin Singleton’s type is girls named Katherine. And when it comes to girls named Katherine, Colin is always getting dumped. Nineteen times, to be exact. On a road trip miles from home, this anagram happy, washed-up child prodigy has ten thousand dollars in his pocket, a bloodthirsty feral hog on his trail, and an overweight, Judge Judy-loving best friend riding shotgun–but no Katherines. Colin is on a mission to prove The Theorem of Underlying Katherine Predictability, which he hopes will predict the future of any relationship, avenge Dumpees everywhere, and may finally win him the girl.

*enters in a shower of glitter* This book has kind of a funny story attached to it. I am TERRIBLE with my library books, and with that I mean that I’m really bad at turning them in on time and I stock up so many fines it’s insane. But I’m good now, and decided it’s time to go to the ebook version of the library if I do want to read them. I’m good on books for a while, you have no idea. I had checked this out from the library and tried really hard to read it but I just couldn’t get into it. So I had to return it when the fines got to be too much, and it rotted in Partially Read Hell for a while.

But as this book said, “Books are the ultimate Dumpees: put them down and they’ll wait for you forever; pay attention to them and they always love you back.”

Quotes like these are why I love John Green. One moment he’s talking about chicken nuggets, the next he’s making quotes like that.  John is one of the few authors who truly understand teenage emotions. It’s great.

Now, as for this book, it’s a cute concept. A creative and cute one. But I made the mistake of reading The Fault in Our Stars and Looking for Alaska before this one, and it lacked the depth that those two had. It certainly was nice to have my heart remain in my chest rather than brutally ripped out (I was sobbing at The Fault in Our Stars), so the lack of depth was kind of nice. Interesting characters, very good humor, a little bit of math. It’s good for the geek in all of us.

Other than that, it was a nice read. A quick read, and not as life changing as other books.

Four stars. Not life changing, still good.

Up Next: Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan

Comments? I like comments. You should leave one.

