Reviews with a Mug Brownie: The Catcher in the Rye by JD Salinger

Published March 15, 2013 by Britt

BEFORE I BEGIN: Did you guys miss me? Life + exhaustion + distractions gave me no motivation to update this, but now I shall! I have a long list of posts I have ideas for, and therefore I have motivation. There’s probably going to be a string of reviews in a row, each for movies and books, so there. Enjoy! I missed you all!

 

Plot Summary: I can’t find a good snippet here. ): Basically, Holden Caulfield has gotten kicked out of school again and doesn’t want to go home. So he wanders around New York City late at night instead.

Opinion time! Well, well, well… Holden Caulfield. Where to begin? General opinions on this book is that you love it or you hate it. I’m a Nerdfighter (for those that don’t know what that is, check out the vlogbrothers on Youtube. It’s John and Hank Green. Most people at school know John as the author of The Fault in Our Stars and Looking for Alaska or That Guy From Crash Course. Close enough.) and they all say wonderful things about the book. So I expected to love it as much as they did. Also, my dad told me it’s called the serial killer book, because a lot of people who commit murders are in possession of it when they’re caught. I had an entire discussion about this with my Criminal Justice teacher.

Maybe I wasn’t reading it right, but it was sort of a letdown. I mean sure, it was interesting. And yes, Holden Caulfield had some deep thoughts. But the plot was him just wandering around New York. It was a straight plot, but the writing was almost like a Christmas Tree. Something would happen, and he’d think about it on a tangent, and then something else would happen, and he would go off on a tangent.

JD Salinger does have an interesting understanding of the teenage mind nowadays, which makes sense why it’s so popular with adolescents. Holden Caulfield is, let’s face it, a bit of a whiny b*tch. But the thing is, that’s what teenagers do. We whine, we rebel, we hate everyone and everything, we swear too much (I’m not even going to deny that I swear when I’m alone. I know my parents are reading this.), we think about sex. Holden Caulfield complains about everything ranging from his parents to the word “Grand” and how it’s all phony. That’s a common word in this story. “Phony.”

But we do think deep thoughts sometimes. We have the most existential crises ever and they’re over some of the smallest things. And he does have this giant existential crisis that really isn’t necessary, but after you get kicked out of school (this is just me guessing here), you probably don’t want to go home and tell your parents. I wouldn’t.

Also, when I first saw the book’s cover, I thought “Um, WTF is on the cover? Some Asian dragon horse thingy?” Well, yes and no. I discovered that it is a merry go round horse in front of the city. Go figure.

Overall, three stars out of five. Interesting, but not as great as it’s made out to be.

Next time on Reviews with a Mug Brownie (Book Edition): An Abundance of Katherines by John Green

Comments? I like comments. You should leave one.

