Reviews with a Mug Brownie: The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy

Published February 4, 2013 by Britt

From tvtropes.org

Plot: Mere seconds before the Earth is to be demolished by an alien construction crew, journeyman Arthur Dent is swept off the planet by his friend Ford Prefect, a researcher penning a new edition of “The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy.”

From IMDb.

Now here I come with an opinion.

Oh dear. Where to begin.

I had high hopes for this movie. I love love love Martin Freeman. I love Douglas Adams. I love the book.

But you know how the general rule of thumb is that movies are rarely ever like the book? And then some movies just like to, for lack of a better term, canon-rape the book, like Eragon and Percy Jackson, even HP5 and HP3?

The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy has been added to that list.

Don’t get me wrong, it was funny. And the book certainly was there. It just went from being funny and with a bit more of a plot to just this… mess.

To start off, there’s a weird mesh of British and American actors. In case anyone didn’t know, THGTTG is a BRITISH novel. It was filmed in the UK, it was written by a British author, they should have done like they did with Harry Potter and made it 100% British except for where designated like in Goblet of Fire.

And I truly wish that Douglas Adams was alive when this was being written, because I know he wouldn’t have allowed this Frankenscript of a movie to be released. When I say Frankenscript, I mean that it was pieces of the writer’s script with Adams’ script pieced together to form this thing. So many instances of “What happened to the mouse?” and weird new things that didn’t make sense.

NOTE: After a little bit of research, I have discovered much of this Frankenplot is coming from Douglas’ desire as well. Douglas… why…?  ;__; That and it was a combo of the first book and the sequel that was never made.

And there’s singing. Singing dolphins at the beginning. I am not lying.

Zooey Deschanel is her usual character, sweet little fun thing who is just quirky.

I liked Alan Rickman as Marvin.

And I just… ugh.

Two stars out of five. Sigh….

 

I should really start making mug brownies when I write this wow I’m weird.

2 comments on “Reviews with a Mug Brownie: The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy

  • Comments? I like comments. You should leave one.

